Did You Tell Them…

Did you tell them?

The weather was far
too sunny here that day
for me to notice the
ground that was starting
to grow damp in your
presence;
But, I overheard the clatter
of acid rain from the other
side of the window, I swear,
when your eyes became my new
home-
they were warning bells,
and you knew of them-
did you tell them?

You said I could rent your
shoulder for free when my
head needed to rest, somewhere-
I did not understand this
oxymoron, but I believed it,
like a child does in reindeers,
descending from the sky, for them;
did you tell them that you
extorted me of all that I
possessed, and called me kind,
in return?
I thought it was repayment enough;
did you tell them that I was naive?

I saw you, changing into a queer
wizard, through the keyhole when
you chose to not open the door
on occasions;
I still own the dark cape you
left behind-
Do you tell them that I am afraid
to go near it, to touch it?

Do you tell them, maybe jokingly, that you would
rob them off, too?

It still rains here quite often;
they must tell me of the spells
that did not break for long,
the lost fireflies find refuge
in my unlit room quite often now-
I haven’t told them that the
darkness has leaked from inside
my heart,
they cannot fix it,
they wouldn’t know-
Do you tell them of this city
that is closed to visitors now?

There was news of another havoc,
too, far from here,
but no objects were found this time.
Do you leave newer keepsakes now?
Is an unapologetic grin, or
an unsuspiscious goodbye
one of those, by any chance?

Author: ShadyStan

I'm not Sarcastic.... Just Brutally Honest...

Leave a comment